The Wakefield Twins

February 14, 2007 at 4:50 pm 13 comments

Who can forget Elizabeth and Jessica of Sweet Valley? The series that ‘grew up’ with us. Im pretty sure we all started from reading the Sweet Valley Kids series then we moved to Sweet Valley Twins..and until we were old enough to read the Sweet Valley University.

kidstwinshigh

unicorn university

For a list of the different titles for each series, check out http://thebookliberationproject.wordpress.com/collections-backlists/sweet-valley-created-by-francine-pascal/

Entry filed under: Culture, Entertainment, Nineties, Nineties+culture, nineties+things, UA&P, UAP+students, University of Asia and the Pacific. Tags: .

Games in the Streets (Larong Kalye) 6 feet of bubble gum!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jel  |  February 14, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    omg! i’m a super duper fan of this. I even have some of the books you posted. I read sweet Valley starting from kids, twins, then eventually i swtched to high and SVU. I was so had that the series ended that time. hehe

    Reply
  • 2. Humpty Dumpty  |  February 14, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I have that Sweet Valley Kids edition of the Halloween too! I loved the renewed version of SVH…Senior Year. It was available when I was in high school (technically, that’s not the nineties). I loved the story between Liz and Conner Mc Dermott!

    Do you remember Jessica and Elizabeth’s secret diary?! I read those too. I lurve Ken and Olivia’s love story in that Sweet Valley High Special. I didn’t like Todd Wilkin’s character when he got older. Remember, he tried to make a move on Liz when they were in college na?

    Haha. I’m such a fan of the series. I was also addicted to Love Stories and Sweet Dreams. You should do an article on those too!

    Reply
  • 3. shelley  |  February 15, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    This was so much fun to read! I read from kids, to twins, to high, to university, even the unicorn club. I just dint get to read the secret diary.

    Reply
  • 4. Justine  |  February 15, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Eep!!! Sweet Valley!!! Gosh.. I collected almost all their books from SV Kids, SV Twins, SV High & SVU!!! I used to be gaga over these books!

    Reply
  • 5. kidswereus  |  February 16, 2007 at 9:21 am

    I read the secret diaries too! I liked the Senior Year series the best. Like Humpty Dumpty, I recommend that you read them…and watch out for the Lizzie-Conner team. In Senior Year #3, Lizzie’s so obsessed with Conner…she’s always clumsy around him. And then Conner (who’s an angsty guitarist) sings a song about Liz in front of everyone! Yes that was my favorite Senior Year book. Sigh.

    Which twin did you like best? This is like the Betty-Veronica question. I prefer Liz (obvious ba?!)!

    Reply
  • 6. Crisel  |  February 26, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    Oh. My. GOD. I, like, grew up with this series! I started with Sweet Valley Kids: Jessica and the Spelling Bee Surprise (omg I remember it!! o.O ) and I’ve read every single sweet valley book there is.. Every single one.. even those sagas and ohmigod this is soo nuts the way these memories are being brought up… insane hahaha. I even had a business then when I would rent out my books and I kept this little notebook to keep track of where my books went and how much people owe me… HAHAHA

    Reply
  • 7. kidswereus  |  February 26, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    My first SVK book was #8…that was when they went to the Grand Canyon or something.

    I loved looking at the pictures! I even tried drawing the illustrations on my own but pangit tingnan eh! Are your SVK books still with you? I lost mine (lent it to someone).

    Reply
  • 8. kidswereus  |  February 26, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    http://thebookliberationproject.wordpress.com/collections-backlists/sweet-valley-created-by-francine-pascal/

    Above is the complete list of the Sweet Valley Kids Series…😀

    Reply
  • 9. Crisel  |  February 27, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Jessica and the Spelling Bee Surprise is the 7th.. if the 8th is the… Grand canyon? could that be the Pow Wow something book? Where they find jewelry? lol.. I still have some left but it’s not my prized collection anymore.. I thought it was nice of me to give them away to younger cousins and stuff after I got tired of them… It doesn’t seem so smart a move anymore now😄.

    Reply
  • 10. Tin  |  March 1, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Oh my gosh! It’s so funny! I remember this! And I loooveeeed reading the Sweet Valley Kids na books :] I’d always feel as if I’m Elizabeth cause Jessica is just so mean and stuff. Hahaha. I still have my collection though.. And frankly, they’re all in front of me right now.😛

    Reply
  • 11. kidswereus  |  March 2, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Ooh tin, i’m so jealous! take good care of your collection, you’ll want your kids to read them someday. LOL.

    Reply
  • 12. lovely girl  |  March 8, 2007 at 3:01 am

    wow ha ano yung secret diary?di ko ata lam yan.pero whenever i read a book of that, as much as possible i try to finish that ng isang upuan lang

    Reply
  • 13. Sam  |  March 11, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    i remember loving these series. and hating how I couldn’t get all the books I want. I loved Lisa and the unicorns!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


UAPak

http://uapak.com

RSS Return of the Nineties by Kidswereus

  • Kidswereus Recalls (and ambitiously recommends) March 4, 2008
    It’s been a year since we’ve begun this blog. Wahoo! It’s time to bring back the love to the next batch of SEO experts, bloggers, and internet marketers! This year’s theme is more social-oriented. I guess this idea came from our professor who thinks that the Internet is more than an all-in-one medium that integrates […]
    kidswereus
  • Pop Swatch! November 1, 2007
    They were funky, overly large, and well cute.  The Pop Swatch was born in the 80’s but it got to Manila during the nineties. My cousin was obsessed with collecting all the straps that would match. We would always pass by Gift Gate in the Greenhills Shopping Arcade so that we would see the new […]
    kidswereus
  • Oh Tokyo! October 29, 2007
    The show’s goal was simple: to give the Pinoys an overview of the Japanese culture. We love it for the host’s flawless translation of Japanese to Filipino. It also helps that she speaks in a sing-song voice while she asks the Tokyo-dwellers about their day-to-day living. Sad to say, this show stopped airing in RJ […]
    kidswereus
  • Hasbeenhood October 28, 2007
    Seen these 90’s teen stars lately? 1. Phoebe Cates (Fast Times at Ridgemont High) 2. Jonathan Taylor Thomas (Wild America) 3. Jonathan Jackson (Camp Nowhere) 4. Brandy (Moesha) 5. Tia and Tamara Mowry (Sister, Sister) 6. Macaulay Culkin (Home Alone) 7. Daniella Fischer (Boy Meets World) 8. Larissa Oleynik (Alex Mack) 9. Rachel Leigh Cook […]
    kidswereus
  • For kicks: Guess this 90s Telenovela October 27, 2007
    The year was 1998 and we, as a nation, have just recovered from the Thalia telenovela avalanche. We needed a change of pace so here’s a soap whose heroine is a child. Her height is as tiny as her voice! I love her show-gum smile and lengthy lashes. The story was interesting in the beginning: […]
    kidswereus

My Blog Log

Blog Stats

  • 394,083 hits

Blog Explosion

Google Feed Reader

Blogarama

Top Clicks

  • None

